About Heartland Racewalkers

Contacts and Officers:

Meet the HRW Officers for 2017

President BJ Thornburg has been racewalking for 11 years, loves the competition, and loves the fact that racewalking is an Olympic sport. She hopes to be a gold medalist before her racing days are over.

Vice-President Pat Durkin started Race Walking in 2013. After many years of running, her knees and lower back needed a break. She enjoys the technique of racewalking, competition and the club activities with a great group of people.

Treasurer Tom Oakes is starting his ninth year as Treasurer and enjoys staying in shape by attending group walks.

Secretary Karen Swisher began racewalking in 2015 to become more fit. She finds the physical and mental challenges of racewalking fun, especially given the inspiring, supportive group of people in Heartland Racewalkers.

Clinic Director Sunday Cavallaro joined Heartland Racewalkers in 2012 to learn the technique and to be surrounded by a supportive group of like-minded fun people. She enjoys racewalking both competitively and recreationally. Fitness wise, she also enjoys strength training and the outdoors. She has previously been a group fitness and Zumba instructor.

Photographer Maggie McCoy was drawn to HRW because she liked the idea of a sport that would be kind to one's joints. Coming to the HRW meetings has been even more wonderful because of the accomplished, interesting, supportive people in the group. She hopes to develop her skills to the point where she can compete.

At Large Board Member Carol Smith finds that racewalking is a discovery of potential, new technique, new friends and renewed good health. And, it's fun!

Past President Alan Poisner, a founding member of HRW, began racewalking in 1985. After serving for 20 year as President of HRW, he has decided to moved on to become Past President while continuing to support racewalking locally and beyond. He loves to compete, coach and support racewalking. He has won many Gold Medals and set records at National Senior Games, USATF National Meets and the 2011 World Masters Athletics Championships. He was selected as the USATF National Masters Racewalker of the Year in 2011 (65-79) and 2015 (80-84).

Board Members at Large: John Anderson, Charlotte Haupt, Carol Smith